Protecting Oregon's Environment
Oregon State Seal
Oregon Department of Environmental Quality

Land Quality 

Solid Waste

green envelope icon Sign up for email updates on solid waste permits

Prevention and Reuse
Recovery and Compost
Oregon Recycling Laws:
A History
Solid Waste News
Conferences, Training & Workshops
Educational Materials


DEQ issues solid waste disposal site permits that authorize certain solid waste management activities. The following solid waste disposal site permits are issued by DEQ: composting facility, energy recovery facility, incineration facility, landfill, solid waste letter authorization, solid waste treatment facility, transfer station/material recovery facility. If you are applying for a permit, you may need further guidance than can be provided through this Web site. Please contact the permit coordinator for your region by calling direct or toll-free within Oregon, 1-800-452-4011.

Instruction Sheets

Application Forms

  • Composting facility permit or registration
  • General solid waste facility permit
    including energy recovery facilities, material recovery facilities, solid waste treatment facilities, transfer stations, incineration units and landfills

  • Solid waste permit exemption determination
  • Financial assurance documentation
    Worksheets and document templates you will need to submit your financial assurance.

      Financial Assurance Requirements:
      • 40 CFR, Part 258, Subpart G – MSW Landfills

      • Oregon Revised Statute 459.272 and 273 – All Land Disposal Sites (including MSW Landfills)

      • ORS 459.720 and 730 – Waste Tires

      • Oregon Administrative Rule 340 Division 64.0020, 0022 and 0055 – Waste Tires

      • OAR 340 Division 94.0140 and 0145 – MSW Landfills

      • OAR 340 Division 95.0090 and 0095 – Non-MSW Landfills

      • OAR 340 Division 96.0001 – Other Disposal Sites (Energy Recovery Facilities, Incinerators, Composting Facilities, Sludge Disposal Sites, Land Application Disposal Sites, Transfer Stations, Material Recovery Facilities and Solid Waste Treatment Facilities)
  • Waste tire carrier permit
  • Waste tire storage permit

Regional Solid Waste Permit Coordinators

Eastern Region: 541-298-7255 x221

Eastern Region counties include: Baker, Crook, Deschutes, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Hood River, Jefferson, Klamath, Lake, Malheur, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla (including Milton-Freewater), Union, Wallowa, Wasco, and Wheeler.

Northwest Region: 503-229-5263

Northwest Region counties include: Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Multnomah, Tillamook, and Washington.

Western Region: 503-378-5047

Western Region counties include: Benton, Coos, Curry, Douglas, Jackson, Josephine, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Polk, and Yamhill.

Related informational links

[print version]


For more information about DEQ's Land Quality programs, visit the DEQ contact page.

Oregon Department of Environmental Quality
Headquarters: 811 SW Sixth Ave., Portland, OR 97204-1390
Phone: 503-229-5696 or toll free in Oregon 1-800-452-4011
Oregon Telecommunications Relay Service: 1-800-735-2900  FAX: 503-229-6124

The Oregon Department of Environmental Quality is a regulatory agency authorized to protect Oregon's environment by
the State of Oregon and the Environmental Protection Agency.

DEQ Web site privacy notice