Protecting Oregon's Environment
Oregon State Seal
Oregon Department of Environmental Quality

Land Quality

Environmental Cleanup

green envelope icon Sign up for email updates on the Environmental Cleanup Program
Brownfields
Dry Cleaners
Emergency Response
Orphan Sites
Prospective Purchasers Agreement
Site Assessment
Site Response
Voluntary Cleanup
Conferences, Training & Workshops

Emergency Response Program 

Oregon Ballast Water Management

BackgroundBallast water release - dockside

The discharge of ballast water, used to provide vessel stability, may introduce aquatic non-indigenous species into Oregon waterways, potentially resulting in ecological damage, economic costs and/or human health concerns. Since 2002, DEQ has authority under the Oregon Legislature to implement and enforce ballast water management regulations in an effort to reduce the risk of introducing new aquatic invasive species.

State regulations on ballast water management require that all regulated vessels submit ballast water management reports to DEQ at least 24 hours prior to entry into the state. Vessels intending to discharge ballast water into waters of the state must perform necessary management practices, as described in Oregon Revised Statute 783.620-640, prior to discharge. All regulated vessels are subject to boarding, inspection and ballast water sampling verification by state inspectors. As described in ORS 783.990-992, vessel operators/owners not in compliance with Oregon ballast water management regulations are subject to fines up to $25,000 per violation per day and/or civil penalties.

Oregon ballast water pre-arrival reporting

In addition to federal reporting requirements to the National Ballast Information Clearinghouse, vessels must submit ballast water report forms to the State of Oregon at least 24 hours before arriving in state waters. Reports may be submitted on USCG-approved ballast reporting forms, as email attachments (doc, pdf, xfdf, xls, tif or jpg) to ballast.water@deq.state.or.us or marine.room@pdxmex.com, or via fax (503-229-6954).

In the event a vesselís actual ballast practices differ from those projected on the report form, an amended form must be submitted prior to the vesselís departure.

Ballast management vessel arrival fee

Beginning January 2012, regulated vessels entering into Oregon waters will be assessed a $70 vessel arrival fee in accordance with Senate Bill 81 (passed in 2011). Revenue generated from the fee will provide support for DEQ ballast water program efforts, including report monitoring, compliance verification and technical support services. Fee collection and disbursement to DEQ is currently handled via contract with Portland Merchants Exchange.

Oregon ballast water management regulations

Other ballast water regulations

For more information

Please contact Rian Hooff, Oregon Ballast Water Program Manager, 503-229-6865 (toll-free in Oregon: 1-800-452-4011 x6865).

[print version]

 

For more information about DEQ's Land Quality programs, visit the DEQ contact page.

Oregon Department of Environmental Quality
Headquarters: 811 SW Sixth Ave., Portland, OR 97204-1390
Phone: 503-229-5696 or toll free in Oregon 1-800-452-4011
Oregon Telecommunications Relay Service: 1-800-735-2900  FAX: 503-229-6124

The Oregon Department of Environmental Quality is a regulatory agency authorized to protect Oregon's environment by
the State of Oregon and the Environmental Protection Agency.

DEQ Web site privacy notice