Protecting Oregon's Environment
Oregon State Seal
Oregon Department of Environmental Quality

Eastern Region


Eastern Oregon
About Eastern Region
Contact Eastern Region
Local Projects and Programs
Report a Complaint
Schedule a File Review
State wide
Air Toxics
Air Quality Index
Business Assistance
Maintenance, Nonattainment Areas
Total Maximum Daily Loads

About Eastern Region

DEQ's Eastern Region encompasses 18 counties of Central and Eastern Oregon (Baker, Crook, Deschutes, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Hood River, Jefferson, Klamath, Lake, Malheur, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Wasco, and Wheeler).

Offices in Eastern Region issue air and water permits that limit the amount of pollution that industry or municipal sewage treatment plants can discharge to the environment. They ensure compliance with environmental regulations through a program of permits, technical assistance, periodic inspections, and enforcement against violators. They also investigate complaints from the public, respond to environmental emergencies resulting from spills and accidents, and permit on-site septic systems.

Eastern Region offices are located in Bend, Hermiston, Pendleton and The Dalles.

E-mail subscription options

DEQ offers electronic updates regarding Oregon permitting activities. Sign up for one or more of the following e-mail subscription items to have notices sent to your e-mail.

[print version]


For more information about DEQ's Eastern Region call 541-388-6146 (Bend) or 541-276-4063 (Pendleton) or email DEQ Info .

Oregon Department of Environmental Quality
Headquarters: 700 NE Multnomah Street, Suite 600, Portland, OR 97232
Phone: 503-229-5696 or toll free in Oregon 1-800-452-4011
Oregon Telecommunications Relay Service: 1-800-735-2900  FAX: 503-229-6124

The Oregon Department of Environmental Quality is a regulatory agency authorized to protect Oregon's environment by
the State of Oregon and the Environmental Protection Agency.

DEQ Web site privacy notice