Read more : Oregon Environmental Quality Commission (EQC) Members
Protecting Oregon's Environment
Oregon State Seal
Oregon Department of Environmental Quality

Environmental Quality Commission

About the EQC

Environmental Quality Commission Members

The Oregon Environmental Quality Commission is a five-member panel of Oregonians appointed by the governor for four-year terms to serve as DEQ’s policy and rule-making board. Members are eligible for reappointment but may not serve more than two consecutive terms.

Jane O'Keeffe
Jane O’Keeffe

Jane O’Keeffe, a native of northeast Oregon, has been an operating partner in the O’Keeffe Family Ranch, a fourth-generation cattle operation in Adel, near Lakeview, for more than 25 years and has served as partner in the Campbell Crossing Ranch in Kimberly since 2007. She has served as a member and co-chair of the Oregon Watershed Enhancement Board and has been active in other local natural resource boards involving forest lands and sustainability. Her public service also includes work as consultant to the National Forest Counties and Schools Coalition and seven years as a Lake County commissioner. Jane has a bachelor’s degree in agriculture and resources economics from Oregon State University. Commissioner O’Keeffe was appointed to EQC in June 2008 and resides in Adel.

Term of service: 7/1/08-6/30/12; 7/1/12-6/30/16
Ed Armstrong, Commissioner
Ed Armstrong
Ed Armstrong has lived in Oregon for nearly six decades. He grew up in Washington County and served many years in the education field. He received a B.S. degree in biology from Portland State University. He has served as a high school teacher, director of an alternative education program, curriculum director, grant writer, and CEO of a national water treatment company. Armstrong has served on numerous boards and councils, and has been involved with watershed restoration projects with students over the years. His work has been recognized and received awards statewide and nationally. Commissioner Armstrong was appointed to EQC in February 2012 and lives in Hebo.

Term of service: 3/1/12-6/30/15; eligible for reappointment

Morgan Rider, Commissioner
Morgan Rider

Morgan Rider specializes in strategic corporate sustainability planning, environmental management system development and environmental health and safety compliance. She has managed and performed environmental compliance projects and audits for large commercial clients with national and international assets. Rider has worked as environmental compliance manager for LSI Logic and Nike, and has been the sustainability chair for the Pacific Northwest Cleantech Open since 2009. She holds a B.S. in civil and environmental engineering from Cornell University and is a registered professional engineer in the state of Oregon. Commissioner Rider was appointed to EQC in February 2012 and lives in Portland.

Term of service: 3/1/12-6/30/15; eligible for reappointment

Colleen Johnson, Commissioner
Colleen Johnson

Colleen Johnson has been a Professor of Economics at Eastern Oregon University for over 26 years. She has a PhD in economics from Washington State University. She is a nationally known scholar on the effects of federal deficits on interest rates and the field of institutional economics. Her primary areas of teaching are macroeconomics, labor economics, public policy and public administration. Commissioner Johnson served for 16 years on the La Grande City Council, 14 of those as Mayor of La Grande. As Mayor, she also served on the Oregon Mayors Association Board of Directors and on the League of Oregon Cities Board of Directors. Commissioner Johnson was appointed to EQC in December 2012 and lives in La Grande.

Terms of service: 12/13/12-12/12/16; eligible for reappointment

[print version]

For more information about the Environmental Quality Commission (EQC) call 503-229-5301 or email the Assistant to the Commission.

Oregon Department of Environmental Quality
Headquarters: 811 SW Sixth Ave., Portland, OR 97204-1390
Phone: 503-229-5696 or toll free in Oregon 1-800-452-4011
Oregon Telecommunications Relay Service: 1-800-735-2900  FAX: 503-229-6124

The Oregon Department of Environmental Quality is a regulatory agency authorized to protect Oregon's environment by
the State of Oregon and the Environmental Protection Agency.

DEQ Web site privacy notice